Reservations Voucher

Sebastian Frank

1/3

An Austrian in Berlin

Sebastian first arrived in Berlin from Austria in 2010 when the restaurant's previous owners Edith Berlinger and Dietmar Schweitzer gave him his first job as head chef. He has been cooking here ever since and earned his first Michelin star in 2011. Having taken over the restaurant in 2014, Sebastian Frank and Jeannine Kessler were pleased to receive a second Michelin star in November 2015. Gault-Millau has awarded them 18 points Feinschmecker has given them four Fs out of five. At the beginning of 2018, Sebastian Frank won the  “Best Chef of Europe” award at the international food congress “madridfusion”.

2/3

Taste the Memories

Sebastian Frank associates cooking with childhood memories of his home. The Michelin-starred chef gives his own unique touch to traditional Austrian dishes, interpreting them in a modern and creative way. In his kitchen, vegetables are equal to meat and fish. They are all actors on an equal footing that can take on various roles depending on whether they are used to spice up a dish, lend consistency or play the lead. He has developed his very own unmistakeable style of cooking with vegetables. 

3/3

Your hosts

Head chef Sebastian Frank is the creative mind and inventor of "emancipatory" cooking and manages his team with boldness and passion. Each individual plate bears the signature that he has developed over the past years.

Janine Woltaire joined the team as restaurant manager and sommelière in 2019. She works closely with Sebastian Frank and is particularly interested in character and quality when selecting wines. In keeping with restaurant’s philosophy, she chooses wines from Germany, Austria, Hungary as well as Eastern Europe to complement the experience, tastes and sensations of the food. 

Sebastian Frank's companion Jeannine Kessler runs the 2-starred restaurant and keeps everything under control, ensuring that all the guests have a very special experience that they will never forget.

Reservierung Gutschein

Sebastian Frank

1/3

Ein Österreicher in Berlin

Der Österreicher kam 2010 nach Berlin und trat im Horváth seine erste Stelle als Küchenchef an. Dankbar für die Chance, welche ihm die Vorbesitzer Edith Berlinger und Dietmar Schweitzer gaben, steht er seitdem erfolgreich am Herd des Traditionsrestaurants. Seinen ersten Stern im Guide Michelin erkochte er sich hier bereits 2011. Nach der Übernahme des Restaurants durch ihn und seine Lebensgefährtin Jeannine Kessler im Jahr 2014, freuten sich die beiden im November 2015 mit ihrem Team über den 2. Stern im Guide Michelin. Der Gault Millau listet das Restaurant heute mit 18 Punkten, der Feinschmecker mit 4 F’s von 5. Anfang 2018 erhielt Sebastian Frank  im Rahmen des internationalen Gastro-Kongresses „madridfusion“ den Titel „bester Koch Europas 2018“.

2/3

Taste the Memories

Bei Sebastian Frank fängt Kochen immer mit der Erinnerung an seine Kindheit und Heimat an. Der Sterne-Koch gibt den klassischen österreichischen Gerichten eine einzigartige Note und interpretiert sie modern und kreativ. Hier steht Gemüse gleichberechtigt neben Fleisch oder Fisch. Indem ein Produkt ebenso wichtig wie das andere ist, sind sie alle Akteure auf dem Teller, die in ganz unterschiedliche Rollen schlüpfen können – vom Gewürz, Konsistenzgeber oder Aromaträger bis hin zum Hauptdarsteller. Mit seinen individuellen Gemüsegerichten hat er mittlerweile einen unverkennbaren Küchenstil entwickelt.

3/3

Ihre Gastgeber

Als kreativer Kopf und Erfinder der emanzipatorischen Küche führt Küchenchef Sebastian Frank sein Küchenteam mit Mut und Leidenschaft an. Jeder einzelne Teller trägt seine unverkennbare Handschrift, die er in den letzten Jahren entwickelt hat.

Seit 2019 neu im Team ist Restaurantleiterin und Sommelière Janine Woltaire. Sie arbeitet eng mit Sebastian Frank zusammen und legt bei der Auswahl der Weine besonders viel Wert auf Charakter und Qualität. Passend zum Menü wählt sie für Sie die passenden Weine aus Österreich, Deutschland, Ungarn und Osteuropa aus und komplettiert damit das Geschmackserlebnis.

Jeannine Kessler ist Geschäftsführerin des 2-Sterne Restaurants und Lebensgefährtin von Sebastian Frank. Die Managerin hält die Fäden in der Hand und sorgt dafür, dass für die Gäste ganz besondere Momente kreiert werden, an die sie sich lange erinnern.